Growing out of conversations between the Norwegian Nobel Institute’s Director Jacob Sverdrup and civic leaders in Minnesota with strong ties to Norway including Walter Mondale, David Preus, Mike Roan, and Al Quie, the first Peace Prize Forum was held at St. Olaf College in 1989.

For 30 years, the Nobel Peace Prize Forum Minneapolis provided an important, highly visible international platform that celebrated the accomplishments of Nobel Peace Prize winners. Beginning in 2019, Augsburg University is hosting the Human Rights Forum, focusing on racial justice, indigenous rights and environmental sustainability.

Find out more about the history of the Nobel Peace Prize Forum Minneapolis.


2018 – “The Paradox of Peace”

Honored Laureates: President Juan Manuel Santos (2016 Laureate) and the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (2017 Laureate)


2017 – “Dialogue in Divided Societies”

Honored Laureate: Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet (2015 Laureate)



2016 – “Globalizing Compassion”

Honored Laureate: Kailash Satyarthi (2014 Laureate)



Honored Laureates: Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) (2013 Laureate) and President Jimmy Carter (2002 Laureate)

2014 – “Crossing Boundaries to Create Common Ground” 

Honored Laureates: His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama (1989 Laureate) and Leymah Gbowee (2011 Laureate)



Honored Laureates: Muhammed Yunus (2016 Laureate) and Tawakkol Karman (2011 Laureate)



2012 – “The Price of Peace” 

Honored Laureate: F.W. de Klerk (1993 Laureate)



Please contact our office if you require information from Forums 1989-2011.