Malala Yousafzay and Kailash Satyarthi Win 2014 Nobel Peace Prize

Today the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded jointly to Malala Yousafzay and Kailash Satyarthi “for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.”

The Norwegian Nobel Committee’s announcement emphasized “In the poor countries of the world, 60% of the present population is under 25 years of age. It is a prerequisite for peaceful global development that the rights of children and young people be respected. In conflict-ridden areas in particular, the violation of children leads to the continuation of violence from generation to generation.”

The Norwegian Nobel Committee commended the great personal courage of both laureates and “regards it as an important point for a Hindu and a Muslim, an Indian and a Pakistani, to join in a common struggle for education and against extremism.”

In the spirit of the Nobel Peace Prize and its laureates, the 2015 Nobel Peace Prize Forum will bring together Nobel Laureates and leaders of courage and peace, and provide a space for transformative dialogue. Delegates and participants wishing to attend the event will be able to reserve tickets on the Nobel Peace Prize Forum website on January 5, 2015.