For the last 29 years, the Nobel Peace Prize Forum has provided an important, highly visible international platform that celebrates the accomplishments of Nobel Peace Prize winners. The annual Forum creates opportunities to learn from the work of the laureates and provides opportunities to support the ongoing work of reducing violence and fostering peace while highlighting the work of the laureates.

In recent years, the Nobel Peace Prize Forum has honored the work of Nobel Peace Prize laureates such as Kailash Satyarthi, His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama, President Jimmy Carter, Wangari Maathai, Muhammad Yunus, and Tawakkol Karman.

The 29th Annual Nobel Peace Prize Forum in Minneapolis honored and advanced the important accomplishments of the 2015 laureate, the Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet, recognized  “for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution of 2011.”  The 2017 Forum focused on dialogue and strengthening democracy in divided societies.

The 30th Nobel Peace Prize Forum in Minneapolis, themed The Paradox of Peace, will take place on September 14 and 15, 2018, on the  Augsburg University’s campus, and will honor the work of President Juan Manuel Santos of Colombia and the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN).

Originally formed as a consortium of the five Norwegian Lutheran colleges in the upper midwest (Augsburg University, Augustana University, Concordia College, Luther College, and St. Olaf College), the Forum operates under the auspices of the Norwegian Nobel Institute, and is the only such program or academic affiliation outside of Norway.

Today the Forum is permanently hosted and presented by Augsburg University  in Minneapolis, Minnesota. For more information on the history of the Forum, please go to our history overview.

In addition to the founding schools, academic partners now include the University of Minnesota, Pacific Lutheran University, California State University-Sacramento,  Juniata College, University of St. Thomas, and the University of Hawaii, Manoa, among others. Community partners include Global Minnesotayouthrive, the Norway House, and the American Swedish Institute.


Interested in additional information?   Join our email list for event updates!